You may be wondering what difference it makes whether you delete your Facebook or deactivate Facebook. Whether you decide to delete Facebook or deactivate Facebook can make a big difference to your personal information and how much of it stays stored on Facebook. Also how long your Facebook itself stays live on the Internet.
Why Delete or Deactivate Facebook?
Whatever your reasons for wanting to delete or deactivate your Facebook profile, they're your own. Consider though that there are some things that you can do first before taking the last drastic measure of deleting or deactivating your Facebook account. Here are some common reasons people delete or deactivate their Facebooks:
- Account has been hacked
- Facebook stalker
- Too much drama
What to Consider Before Deleting or Deactivating Facebook
Before deleting or deactivating your Facebook profile there are many things you can do first instead of taking such a drastic measure. Here are some things to consider:
- There are ways to deal with a Facebook stalker.
- Facebook has step by step instructions to help you if your Facebook has been hacked.
- People on Facebook can be blocked.
- Privacy settings can be changed and adapted to whatever you need them to be.
- Wall settings can be changed to make Facebook any way you want it.
- Keeping strangers away is easy as can be.
- Using the homepage can be about making friends, hiding friends and lots of other things.
Deactivating Facebook: What Does and Doesn't Happen?
When you deactivate your Facebook all your information will immediately disappear from Facebook. That means that all your "friends" on Facebook, and everyone else will no longer be able to access your personal Facebook.
All your information will be saved though. Facebook does this as a courtesy just in case you change your mind and decide to come back at a later time. All your profile information including your friends, photos and everything else will be just the way you left it.
Deactivating can be done by simply clicking on the "Deactivate Account" link from your "Account" page.
Deleting Facebook: What Does and Doesn't Happen?
When you delete your Facebook all your information will be completely gone for good. There's no turning back or changing your mind. This is not a decision you should take lightly so read the information above first. Try some of the tips before taking this last ditch approach.