The privacy settings page for your Facebook account, shown above, is designed to let you specify how widely you want to share material in various contexts on Facebook. As previously stated, access these options by clicking either the lock icon at upper right of every Facebook page, or "Privacy Settings" in the pull-down menu under the gear icon beside the lock.
At the very top is "who can see my stuff?" The default sharing option is public for who can see what you post on Facebook--your status updates, photos, videos, links and other content. That means by default, it is set to Public, so unless you change it, anyone and everyone can see your posts unless you change it to "Friends."
The option you set here is important because it will be the default for everything you post on Facebook, unless you override it manually using the audience selector box or "inline" sharing menu each time you post something. This default option also determines who can see posts you make from other applications that lack Facebook's inline privacy controls, such as BlackBerry's mobile Facebook app.
The sharing options are shown in the small inset image at left above. They are represented by small icons --a globe for Public, heads for Friends, a lock for only yourself, and a gear for a Custom list you may create. This is known as your "audience selector" and it's accessible from your main privacy settings page AND as "inline privacy controls" below the Facebook status update box so you can change it for individual posts.
Click the "edit" button at far right next to "Who can see my stuff?" in order to change your default sharing setting and keep your posts more private. Again, your options are:
Most people will want to choose "Friends," which is NOT the default that Facebook typically sets here. Facebook sets this by default to "Public." Keeping Facebook's default would mean that if you forget to change the inline audience selector (also known as "inline" privacy or sharing controls) when you post a status update or uploaded a photo, by default it will be public or viewable by anyone, not just your friends.
It's highly recommended that you change this default setting to "Friends" so only your Facebook friends can see what you're posting. That will save you time in the long run, because you won't have to change the audience selector setting to "Friends" every time you post something. (Read more about the meaning of Facebook friendship.
Just to be clear: When you're using Facebook's website to post anything, you can always override this default by using the inline privacy menu (see the next page for a picture of them) appearing directly below the status box.
These default privacy settings on Facebook have been the subject of much controversy and various legal actions, as detailed by the Electronic Privacy Information Center's Facebook privacy page.
Privacy controls appear for additional Facebook areas or features on the main privacy settings page shown above. You access each by clicking "Edit Settings" to the far right of its name. Below is an explanation of what each does. The first ("How You Connect") is one of the most important.
Your options are a bit different from those in the inline privacy control menu, and one is the same but worded differently. Here, "Everyone" is used in place of "Public" but means the same thing. Choosing "Everyone" will allow anyone to see something or contact you using that particular method, even if they are not on your friends list.
By default, Facebook sets these first three connection options to "Everyone," which means your basic profile information (real name, Facebook user name, profile photo, gender, networks to which you belong, and Facebook user ID) will be visible to all Facebook users and the general public. Also by default, everyone can send you a friend request or direct message.
If you want, you can change each of these settings to "Friends" or "Friends of Friends" instead of "Everyone." Just be advised that limiting who can see your real name, photo and other general info about you likely will make it harder for others using Facebook to find you in order to send you a friend request. It's not a bad idea to leave these first three options (email contact, friend requests and direct messaging) set to "Everyone."
The last two options listed control who is allowed to post on your Facebook Wall/Timeline and see what other people post on your Wall. By default, Facebook sets the first--who can post to your Wall-- to "Friends," meaning only your friends will be able to post there. The default setting for who can see posts to your Wall is "Friends of Friends," which means if your friends post something there, their friends can see it, too.
To get the most out of Facebook's sharing tools, it's recommended that you leave these Wall settings alone.
The alternative is to do less sharing. You could, for example, change "Friends of Friends" to just "Friends" if you don't want your friends' friends seeing anything on your Wall. And if you want to be extremely private, you could click "Only Me" for both of these default Wall settings. But that would basically prevent anyone from putting anything on your wall and only allow you to post stuff there.
If you're confused about what goes on your Wall/Timeline, this article explains the key differences between your personalized News Feed and Profile/Timeline page.
If you are privacy conscious, it's a good idea to change four out of your five possible setting for tags from "off" to "on."
This won't prevent people from tagging photos or posts with your name, but will let you review anything tagged with your name before it appears on your Wall or in news feeds. For example, if someone posts a photo and tags you as being in it, that fact won't be broadcast in a news feed unless and until you approve it.
The middle of these five tag settings is set by default to "Friends," and it governs who can see posts and photos that have been tagged with your name. You have a lot of options here, including the previously discussed "Custom" option which lets you restrict this to being seen by a select group of friends or by all your friends except a select group you have blocked.
The final setting here is another "on" / "off" choice, and it says "Friends can check you into Places using the mobile Places app." It's a very good idea to change that to "Off," especially if you don't want your friends broadcasting your whereabouts to all kinds of people on Facebook.
Alternatively, you can scroll back through your profile page timeline or wall and individually change privacy/sharing options for each particular item. Just be advised, if you click this "past posts" option here, you'll make all your past posts viewable only to friends, and you can't undo this change once you've done it. So if, for example, you previously made a bunch of restricted friends lists and posted some photos that only could be seen by that select group of friends, if you click this option here you'll be letting ALL your friends see that previously restricted material on your Facebook timeline or wall.
Since Facebook doesn't tell anyone who's on your restricted list, these people don't know they are not seeing what you post to your friends. They only see what you post to the "Public" or to "everyone." So it's a good idea to occasionally make some public posts, which will make these "restricted friends" at least feel like they are connected to you.