1. Technology
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Hide Friends on Facebook to Hide Status Updates You Don't Like

By

2 of 4

How to Hide Friends on Facebook by Scrolling Through Your News Feed
Hide Facebook Friends Menu

This is the menu allowing you to "hide" Facebook friends or "unsubscribe" to their updates -- without unfriending them. It got a major redesign in 2011.

© Facebook

One good way to hide friends on Facebook is to go through your news feed and selectively use the Facebook "unsubscribe" button.

First, start culling through your feed and find someone whose updates you want to hide. Then click on the little down arrow to the far right of their status update. You'll see a drop-down menu like the image shown above.

The menu is a bit complicated. The top part allows you to hide that particular update or report it as spam. That's not what you want.

The middle and bottom part of the menu are where you will focus. The middle part controls the volume or quantity of updates that you see from the person. The bottom "unsubscribe" options allow you to hide all of their status updates and activity updates, or hide all of their status updates.

Middle Part of Menu: the Volume Control

For volume, you have three main choices in the dropdown menu governing how much you'll see from this person. The choices you'll be presented with if they're your friend and you're subscribed to them are:

  • All updates
  • Most updates
  • Only important

By default, Facebook sets the subscribe button to "most updates" for your friends, because it assumes that you want to see most of what they write in your news feed. That's the medium option on the volume of updates you want to receive from that person.

But you can easily dial it back to have only the "most important" updates from any or all of your friends show up in your news feed. "Most important" would mean you would see only the updates they send that are getting a lot of response from other friends. Or you could dial it up for your close friends by say you want to see "all updates" from them.

Just click the option you want.

Second Part of Menu: Unsubscribe Options

The options at the bottom of the dropdown menu govern the unsubscribe feature on Facebook.

You can unsubscribe from the person completely, which means you won't see any of their status updates in your news feed OR any of their activity updates in your ticker. That option is labeled "Unsubscribe from SoandSo," with their first name replacing "Soandso."

Activity updates are actions your friends take on Facebook; they show up in your ticker, that sidebar of real-time info that scrolls in a tiny window on the right side of your Facebook page.

So Facebook gives you a choice here of whether you want to unsubscribe from either or both update types--status or activity.

If you don't want any status updates from your friend in your main news feed, but do want their activities included in your ticker, you'd click the item saying "unsubscribe from status updates from SoandSo."

Alternatively, you could say you don't want to see their activity updates by clicking "Unsubscribe to activity stories by SoandSo."

To hide both, click "unsubscribe to SoandSo."

This menu of unsubscribing options confuses many people, and no wonder. There is little help available on site for deciphering the terms and functions. Compounding the confusion is the fact that the two primary unsubscribe options (for updates and activities) don't both show in the pulldown menu all the time.

If it's a status update that you're editing in your news feed, for example, then "unsubscribe to status updates" usually shows. But if it's an activity update, then that option--"unsubscribe to activity stories"-- is presented.

The "unsubscribe to Soandso", which hides both types of updates, appears most of the time.

Unsubscribe Does Not Mean Unfriend

Keep in mind, though, to unsubscribe from your friend does not mean you are defriending or unfriending them, it just means you won't see their status updates in your news feed./

On the next page we will discuss another way to manage what you see from each friend--by going to their profile page and clicking the "FRIEND" Button.

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.