1. Computing

How to Deactivate Your Facebook in 4 Easy Steps

By

2 of 4

2. Go To Account Settings, Find Deactivate My Account
Deactivate Facebook screenshot
© Facebook: deactivate screenshot
To find the link to deactivate your Facebook, sign in and go to the menu at the top of every page. Click ACCOUNT/ACCOUNT SETTINGS and scroll down to the bottom. (Yes, Facebook likes to hide its deactivation link.)

Click "deactivate" to the far right at the bottom.

It will ask, "Are you sure you want to deactivate your account? Deactivating your account will disable your profile and remove your name and picture from anything you've shared on Facebook."

Then it may pick a friend of yours and say "SoandSo will miss you." Facebook will even display his or her photo, in an attempt to make you feel warm and fuzzy about the service you are trying to leave. It may even tell you how many friends you stand to lose!

You must answer two more questions before you can click the button to deactivate.

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.